The Coming Days

This weekend I was blessed with the experience of working with some of the most amazing pastors and children’s ministers in the NTCUMC as I watched 130 kids learn about the Bible and grow excited about exploring God’s work as they grow up. This weekend was a much needed break from city life as I prepare for the coming months. IMG_9622 IMG_9585IMG_9593

Lets take a little trip back in time to the beginning of July 2010. I had just finished my freshman year of high school and was looking forward to the continued adventures of high school along side my best friends. I went on a mission trip to a weird state called Texas from the beautiful state of Arkansas, and though I had taken a similar trip to Houston the summer before, I was nervous to return to this flat and hot land.1934421_1161917615639_501161_n

Accompanied by my two best friends Henry and Michala, my mom, and youth director Michelle, and the ever so wise seniors Kevin, Jordan, and Kristen I knew we would have an entertaining trip to C2K housed in the heart of what I called Dallas. Looking back its easy to see exactly what God had in store for me.

38894_1327879830096_7955715_n
Keep in mind The Move 2010, jump forward a year to the week of July 4th, 2011 I returned to C2K having lived in McKinney for about four months, Dallas was still a weird land of unfamiliar views and endless opportunities. This time I was accompanied by a much larger and more diverse group of students and adults, but providing me with the chance to explore my interest in leadership and missions.

267585_10150315743556115_8176835_n 271165_10150315742406115_7927712_nOnce I got settled into my new Texas life and The Move 2010 faded away, I began picking up activities I enjoyed in Arkansas such as CCYM and realized that I was constantly being pulled to the C2K facility and what I came to know as the Oak Cliff area. I graduated and C2K flew off my radar, as college and work began to occupy my mind. Working for the North Texas Conference of the United Methodist Church as an intern I have run into councilors, facility manager, employees, volunteers, etc., from my time volunteering and I always thought I was totally normal because the United Methodist Church is so connected. This summer after an unexpected meeting my dad and Jamie Nelson, the current C2K coordinator had a long discussion about the growth of this organization and the impact she wants it to continue to make on the community.

Tomorrow I obtain keys to an apartment in Oak Cliff. Tomorrow lines that God has been tracing out for me over the course of the last four years will be connected, and I will move one step closer to something bigger than myself.

As the last few weeks have unfolded and I have shared this exciting opportunity with others, it has come to my attention that the same responses are normally given:
“Are you doing that on purpose?”
“Do you own a gun?””Have you watched the news lately?”
I understand where these concerns come from (I really do), but do you really think that God would call me to Oak Cliff and leave me there saying: “You should have been more selective about when you listen to me.”?? Um no. People are dying for the gospel in other countries, and the concern is about a move to a city known for drive bys and drugs? If you are worried about me, pray for me and let me know how I can be praying for you. I don’t want to live in a world where my perspective is so jaded that I become selective about the callings I listen to from God.

I am attending a school that had you told me my freshman year of high school I would end up at, I would have laughed in your face… He doesn’t call us to what is easy, He calls us to what is necessary. I don’t know what is going to happen in the coming months, but I’m going to do my best to please God as I enter into them. If I fall, I’ll get up with God’s help.

Author:

I'm just going to be real, sorry to offend.

Leave a Reply

