Darkness

Black

Heart pounding

A bitter taste only His body can sweeten

I can’t fall back into this

 

My head says, “I wont do it”

as I see the darkness creeping into the corners of the room.

 

If I said I struggle with depression everyday

I would be lying.

Wait…

Let me clarify:

 

It’s what I think about every morning when I wake up, “Will I be okay today?”.

 

Sometimes when I think I’m okay, it whispers in my ear,

“You can’t do that paper today

instead your brain will be so full of crap

you can’t even remember what subject it’s for.”

 

Sometimes I can’t stay awake because the darkness is so heavy it glues my eyelids shut.

 

Sometimes I lay in bed at night

Thank God for a good day

And in the same stream, pray tomorrow won’t be black.

 

 

If I said I don’t struggle with depression everyday

I would be lying.

Wait…

Let me try something different this time:

 

Let me change my

Diet

Sleep pattern

Spiritual practices

Friend group

Job

Outlook

Self

 

*Sigh* I can’t become apathetic or complacent

I am okay

I will be okay

Author:

I'm just going to be real, sorry to offend.

Leave a Reply

